Copyright

First shock is my embarrassing low score of 52% on the quiz. I learned from taking the quiz that the rules on copyright issues are not simple. Many of the regulations include “unless”; for example, recorded videos cannot stay on the shelves for an extended amount of time, UNLESS the video is made by an educational distributor. It was a bit confusing when taking the quiz of whether I should be conservative or liberal when deciphering what is right and wrong in educational copyright regulation because the strict guidelines come with lenient ways to get around the regulations.

I was surprised by the answer in Hall Davidson’s response from “The Educators’ Lean and Mean No FAT Guide to Fair Use”, which explained further into the reasoning of educational copyright regulations: “It doesn’t matter whether or not what you did involved money. What matters more is whether or not it had to do with instruction“… I don’t buy that entirely. I wish he could have used an example or something to back this reasoning. To be honest I think it is about money and giving credit where credit is due. If Davidson or another individual could provide an example to help me to understand this point of view then I would be more than willing to believe this reasoning. At this point, it seems that copyright regulations are placed for money and credit purposes, which is why I may not be comprehending the guidelines of educational copyright fully. 

Leave a comment