How Does Twitter Fit into the Classroom?

I was asked the other day by one of my co-workers about the class I am currently enrolled in. Although the course name slipped my mind at the time, I was able to explain to her the kind assignments and lectures the class covers. The moment that I said, “Most of our work surrounds using Twitter”, her face scrunched into a confused look. She asked, “What in the word does Twitter have to do with education?”

Before I started EDUC 515, I was clueless too on how to meld the two together. I hardly used my own personal Twitter account and couldn’t understand how or why a busy educator would use it to be more productive. I believe that this article posted on the NEA (National Education Association) website can help bring some light to the confusion on how education and Twitter can benefit the classroom.

One great use of Twitter is networking. As a teacher who spends all day around the same students and teachers, your ideas and drive can seem limited without  like-minded educators with the desire to be inspired. Twitter opens up a community for teachers to collaborate, influence and connect with one another to improve their curriculum and instruction for students. With technology constantly updating, it is useful to have a consistent ticker informing teachers of the newest and latest in education. Teachers who may be the “go to” person for tech or gadgets may find their “go to” person by connecting with another teacher on Twitter that may live across the country.

Twitter also offers another communication method between the student and teacher. With so many younger Twitter account holders out there, teachers could use Twitter to bring up questions or ideas for students to consider outside of the classroom. Students may prefer Twitter as a communication method as it is a space they visit probably more frequently then their own email account.

Finally, the NEA article brought to mind the most important attribute you must bring into any education area: FUN.

“Twitter won’t change your life, but it might make your job more fun and a little easier”

Leave a comment